Congressman Michael McCaul

Representing the 10th District of Texas

Hurricane Harvey Resources

County Resources (For Disaster Declared Counties) - Austin, Bastrop, Colorado, Fayette, Harris, Lee, Waller

Austin (Emergency management) (County Sheriff)  (General)

Bastrop  (county sheriff)  (General)

Colorado  (Emergency management)  (County Sheriff)  (General)

Fayette  (Emergency management)  (County Sheriff)  (General)

Harris  (Emergency management)  (County Sheriff)  (General)

Lee  (Emergency management)  (County Sheriff)  (General)

Waller  (Emergency management)  (County Sheriff)  (General)+


Open DRC list

 Fixed DRC #12 Katy Mills Mall (Harris County)

5000 Katy Mills Circle

Katy, TX 77494

Opened: 09/11/2017

Hours: Monday- Saturday 9:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m., Sunday 12:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 


Harvey Recovery Guide

The Harris County Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Management (HCOHSEM) continues a coordinated response to Hurricane Harvey along with local, state, federal and non-profit partners. As we move toward helping our communities rebuild and recover, HCOHSEM has produced the Harvey Recovery Guide.

The guide lists a number of resources available to residents affected by the severe flooding caused by Harvey. The guide includes information on finding housing, food, employment, legal services, and tax relief. It also includes advice on filing insurance claims, applying for disaster relief, replacing lost documents, protecting yourself when hiring contractors, and acquiring crisis counseling or help for managing traumatic stress.

You can view that resource guide here.


Registration Deadline for Harvey Survivors is Nov. 30, 2017

·         If you have uninsured or underinsured damages from Hurricane Harvey and you live in a designated county you may be eligible for disaster assistance. The deadline to apply is Nov. 30.

·         After the Nov. 30 deadline, you can check the status of your application in four different ways:

·         Survivors should register even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but underinsured applicants may receive help after their claims have been settled. You may also be eligible for assistance if:

  • Your settlement was delayed longer than 30 days after you filed a claim.
  • You exhausted the additional living expenses provided in your policy.
  • You cannot locate suitable rental resources in your community.

·         FEMA grants do not have to be repaid and assistance is nontaxable. Grants will not affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid or other federal benefits.

·         The SBA deadline to apply for property damage is Nov. 30, 2017. The deadline to apply for economic injury is May 25, 2018. Applicants may receive additional disaster assistance information by visiting Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955 or email for more information on SBA disaster assistance. Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call (800) 877-8339. Applicants may apply online using SBA’s secure website at

·         Survivors in the following counties are eligible for assistance: Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller and Wharton.

Hotel Stays for Harvey Survivors Extended to Jan. 16, 2018

Eligible Hurricane Harvey survivors receiving Transitional Shelter Assitance (TSA) may receive an extension to stay temporarily in hotels while they look for an alternative place to live.

Disaster survivors with a continuing need for the hotel-sheltering program may be extended to January 16th, 2018. However, there is a mid-term eligibility review on December 12th where survivors participating in TSA will receive a phone call, email, and/or text message advising them if they have continued eligibility for assistance through a participating hotel. 

Hurricane Harvey survivors who recently applied for assistance will be notified automatically of their eligibility. To be considered for eligibility, disaster survivors must be registered with FEMA for disaster assistance, and meet other eligibility criteria. Learn more here


Small Business Administration 

SBA offers low interest, long-term disaster loans to small businesses of all sizes, private non-profits, homeowners, and renters to repair or replace uninsured or underinsured disaster-damaged property.  
Click here for information about the SBA disaster loan assistance program

Harris County Business Recovery Center
University of Houston
Small Business Development Center Region Office
2302 Fannin St., Suite 200
Houston, TX  77002
Mondays – Fridays, 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Saturdays and Sundays, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

To apply for low-interest federal disaster loans using the Electronic Loan Application click here or call (800) 659-2955

Click here for post office service information for Harvey affected areas

Veterans Affairs
Click here for the VA’s Hurricane Harvey Updates page

The IRS is offering tax relief to Harvey victims. Click here for more information.

U.S. Department of Agriculture 
For information about USDA disaster assistance for communities, farmers, ranchers and businesses click here

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development:

Read HUD programs designed to assist disaster victims here.

U.S. Small Business Administration:

United States Postal Service:


How to file a flood insurance claim under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)